Reciprocal Visa-Free Visits between Indonesia and Japan

Posted On 11 Jul 2015
By : 
Illustration. (Image courtesy of papaija2008 at
Jakarta, – Indonesia and Japan may offer each other’s citizens visa-free short visits. This possibility was discussed between President Joko ‘Jokowi’ Widodo and a visiting special envoy of Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe, according to Deputy Foreign Minister AM Fachir.
The Japanese emissary, Hiroto Izumi, met with Jokowi at the latter’s office on Friday (10 Jul 2015). The visa-free facility was among several topics discussed on the occasion, Fachir shared, as reported by Meanwhile, Hiroto Izumi refused to talk to reporters after his meeting with the President.
Indonesia has already offered visa-free visits, which are for up to 30 days, to citizens of 45 countries. They include Brunei Darussalam, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, Myanmar, Laos, Chile, Hongkong, Macau, Morocco, Peru, Turkey, China, Japan, South Korea, United States, Canada, Mexico, New Zealand, Russia, United Kingdom, Netherlands, Italy, Spain, Switzerland, Belgium, Sweden, Austria, Denmark, Norway, Finland, Poland, Hungary, Czech Republic, Qatar, United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Bahrain, Oman, and South Africa.
In 2014, as many as 486,687 Japanese tourists visited Indonesia. In addition, there were 1,519,105 Singaporeans, 1,519,223 Malaysians,  1,098,383 Australians, and 959, 231 Chinese (PRC) visitors to the country.
Indonesia has planned to introduce new measures to compete with its neighboring countries in tourism. Last year, it saw only 9.43 million tourist arrivals, which was far below Malaysia’s 20 million.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: